#1 Hala

Hala

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 03 December 2012 - 12:47 PM

Hi,
This is my first post so I'm still getting used to the terminology/acronyms used on this site!

It's been 3 weeks as of tomorrow since I was diagnosed with coeliac disease and started my gluten-free life.
I've found it quite an overwhelming and emotional learning process (esp. as GPs seem to know nothing and haven't had a meeting with dietitian yet!)

I'm doing everything I can to avoid contamination. I'm a uni student living in a shared house, so it's difficult, but my housemates are very understanding and I've got my own separate utensils and food cupboard.
However I feel like I'm not healing at all! Half the time I wonder if I'm just getting worse!

I've cut out dairy because I can't tolerate it at all. I've also found that the processed gluten-free foods I got on prescription (gluten-free breads and pasta) make me feel sick/give me stomache aches, so I'm avoiding them.

Basically, I'm living off rice & buckwheat porridge, beans, potatoes, rice, lentils and lots of fruit and veg.
I ate pretty healthily before going gluten-free. I'm a vegetarian so have always eaten this sort of food, so I can't think that going gluten-free has been that much of a shock to my body...

But a lot of the time I'm getting awful stomach aches, nausea, 'D', constant headaches, debilitating fatigue, insomnia and brain fog and a generally angry/upset-feeling stomach. I'm also still feeling irritable/emotional a lot of the time.

Is this normal or am I intolerant to other food too? I really don't want to cut out any more types of food.
I got really underweight before the diagnosis (BMI 13/14) because my body wasn't absorbing anything (total villus atrophy & mucosa) and I feel like I'll have nothing left I can eat soon! I'm still losing weight...