Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I am relatively new to celiac disease, so this is all new to me. I have been doing very well and have been relatively symptom free for a few weeks. For lunch today I tried to eat some food that was catered in and had a baked potato, some butter from a mystery tub, salsa from another mystery tub, and shredded cheese. I thought that would be safe, but I have started getting horrible stomach cramps, gas and bloating a few hours later. That is the only "different" thing I have eaten. Could any of that have contained gluten?

Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I am relatively new to celiac disease, so this is all new to me. I have been doing very well and have been relatively symptom free for a few weeks. For lunch today I tried to eat some food that was catered in and had a baked potato, some butter from a mystery tub, salsa from another mystery tub, and shredded cheese. I thought that would be safe, but I have started getting horrible stomach cramps, gas and bloating a few hours later. That is the only "different" thing I have eaten. Could any of that have contained gluten?

Thanks!

I would have to say that it could be almost anything you ate. The butter, salsa and shredded cheese all have the potential for containing gluten. Shredded cheese often contains gluten to prevent it from sticking together. Anything pre-packaged is always risky in my opinion. Gluten can be found in anything (sour cream, fruit juice etc.). It's best to read the labels on everything. If you can't determine if it's 100% gluten free just don't eat it. It really is not fun but you get the hang of eating gluten free. Good luck :)

I am also newly diagnosed... almost all salsas and other tasty dips have onion powder and/or garlic powder in the ingredients... Is it safe to eat?? Thanks :)