Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
songstressc

Silk Milk Products No Longer Labelled Gluten Free !

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I accidentally came across this information. I was inquiring as to whether either the silk brand eggnog or pumpkin drink were gluten free as there is no certification or listing of it as gluten-free.

I emailed the company and inquired as to whether the eggnog or pumpkin was gluten free. I got this response:

Currently, gluten is not considered one of the Big 8 allergenic foods (milk, peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, eggs, fish, shellfish and soy) and the Food & Drug Administration does not provide gluten-free labeling guidelines. However, our products do not contain wheat, barley, oats, rye, or malt, which are considered sources of gluten proteins. To the best of our knowledge, our products are free of gluten.

As with any food product, the best source for nutrient and ingredient information is the package's Nutrition Facts label. In addition, the Food Allergen Network, www.foodallergy.org, is an excellent resource for information related to this topic.

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Kesler

Consumer Response Representative

Ref: N976741

For me ,this is no assurance that SILK's products are gluten free certified - I have sent another email for clarification on gluten free status of the milks. Right now I have stopped using silks milks until I know. I will post my next reply. I leave it to you to decide what to do at this point.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
However, our products do not contain wheat, barley, oats, rye, or malt, which are considered sources of gluten proteins. To the best of our knowledge, our products are free of gluten.
They don't believe that there is any gluten in the product. But, you are right, they do not certify that it is gluten-free. Even if a product is labeled as "Gluten-Free" that does not mean dedicated equipment, nor does it imply testing or certification. In both the USA and Canada, "Gluten-Free" refers only to intentionally added ingredients, and says nothing about testing, certification, or risk of cross-contamination, whether in the facility or from a supplier.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I suspect this could also be another case like the Walmart question the other day. Their new labeling no longer says gluten-free on many of their products that previously did. We were discussing this and someone mentioned that the US does not have clear guidelines and for legal purposes they have probably taken it off of their products due to possible zealous sue-happy people that could claim problems came from their products. Just as we were seeing a definite increase in labeling of gluten-free products, we could be seeing the beginnings of companies back-peddling to avoid legal issues.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I still trust it, and blame lawyers and those who like lawsuits for the legal necessity for them to cover their arses.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the Silk website:

Are Silk products okay for people with wheat and gluten allergies?

There is no wheat, wheat gluten, rye, oats, barley or malt in Silk soymilk, Silk Live! soy yogurt or Silk Creamer. Those with severe allergies should always consult a doctor before introducing a new food.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds gluten-free to me. I'm not sure what more one could ask for beyond a flat-out statement that wheat, rye and barley are not in their products.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
From the Silk website:

Are Silk products okay for people with wheat and gluten allergies?

There is no wheat, wheat gluten, rye, oats, barley or malt in Silk soymilk, Silk Live! soy yogurt or Silk Creamer. Those with severe allergies should always consult a doctor before introducing a new food.

i have been waiting for a follow up email to say whether products are gluten free and a SILK buyer is looking in to it; I will post. Company was bought out by a larger Co. and they have changed packaging as they now h are buying soybeans from China now due to increased load I suspect and can't regulate. This means they now have organic and regular brands. This might be why they took away the gluten free label. However i will post reply when it comes in. I am just trying to inform that is all

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Switch over to the Almond Milk, it says Gluten free right on the front! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"There is no wheat, wheat gluten, rye, oats, barley or malt in Silk soymilk, Silk Live! soy yogurt or Silk Creamer. "

Again, what more can they say? It's gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×