Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Leper Messiah

Glutened Vent

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Grr, I've been trying to follow this by the letter but once a week, every week for the past 3 weeks, I get glutened. Today was the day I got glutened again. Every week I try to find the culprit but beginning to think it might be CC - before I blamed Peperami and then Orangina (which I'm not so sure about) but this time for sure I didn't eat anything knowingly with gluten in it yet I'm absolutely shot with tiredness and GI symptoms.

The irony in all of this is that I can actually tell when I'm glutened - before I was tired 24/7 with no respite and I know it's selfish but it's still very frustrating knowing that for the next 3-5 days I'll feel like poo even whilst I'm eating gluten-free.

Anyone else have a day when they are sure they didn't eat anything gluteny yet are equally sure they were glutened?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Two things that come to mind: 1. It could just be that your system is still healing. Sometimes you feel like you got glutened, and you really didn't. Your system is just still out of whack.

2. could you have another intolerance or issue that you are reacting to?

I do know the feeling. We had Mother's Day out on Sunday morning. MIL's choice, certainly not mine. I ordered eggs (after ensuring there was nothing weird on them) and bacon. The bacon had little crumbs on it, but I didn't process that until after I ate it. I have a feeling, that was what got me. :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I has similar experiences. Finally found out that it was all food intolerances, egg yolks, soy, dairy, and oils. I kept a detailed food journal to nail them down. Hope you find what's hurting you, I know how hard it is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, it's time to check the shampoo, conditioner, and lipstick. Remember, you can easily ingest small amounts of shampoo, etc., and a lot of that stuff has gluten in it. Wheat is a biggie in shampoos. There are a number of great gluten-free shampoos and conditioners out there. AS for lipstick, I own gluten-free ones, but I don't bother to wear the stuff.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does orangina contain corn syrup? If so then ... Bingo!! Corn is harvested with the same equipment and stored in the same silos as wheat and they don't clean it out. It is always contaminated. I am always amazed when people here can get away with processed corn. I started doing way better when I stopped eating corn chips and tortillas even though it made me sad

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah that would probably explain why the corn chips I have that are supposed to be gluten-free seem to bother me!!!! Thanks :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does orangina contain corn syrup? If so then ... Bingo!! Corn is harvested with the same equipment and stored in the same silos as wheat and they don't clean it out. It is always contaminated. I am always amazed when people here can get away with processed corn. I started doing way better when I stopped eating corn chips and tortillas even though it made me sad

I can drink Corona and eat Garden of Eaten' cornchips. I also use corn tortillas in my enchiladas without issue. Is it possible that my sensitivity isn't that high?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Corn is harvested with the same equipment and stored in the same silos as wheat and they don't clean it out. It is always contaminated.

Would you please cite your source for this information. I have been gluten-free for almost ten years, and this is the first I have heard of it. Oats, yes, oats share harvesters and silos, and are usually contaminated. But the allegation that it is also true of corn is news to me. I eat "processed" corn all the time and have not had a problem. Your source, please.

ETA: You may have a sensitivity to corn as well as gluten. A number of celiacs do, but I am not one of them.

Edited by psawyer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Would you please cite your source for this information. I have been gluten-free for almost ten years, and this is the first I have heard of it. Oats, yes, oats share harvesters and silos, and are usually contaminated. But the allegation that it is also true of corn is news to me. I eat "processed" corn all the time and have not had a problem. Your source, please.

ETA: You may have a sensitivity to corn as well as gluten. A number of celiacs do, but I am not one of them.

Yes, please. I would also like to know the source of the alleged gluten contamination in corn as this is the very very first I have ever heard of such a thing. (Been gluten-free almost 10 years too!)

Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can drink Corona and eat Garden of Eaten' cornchips. I also use corn tortillas in my enchiladas without issue. Is it possible that my sensitivity isn't that high?

You drink Corona??? BARLEY???

:o

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×