Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Soy Lecithin A New "no-no"?


  • Please log in to reply

9 replies to this topic

#1 RacerRex9727

 
RacerRex9727

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
 

Posted 04 September 2009 - 12:40 PM

I have been doing a pretty good job of being gluten-free, but I had a strong feeling I was missing something. Some things that were labeled "gluten-free" were still making me sick, and these were organic brands like Trader Joe's and Sprouts.

I found out that a family friend also has celiac disease, but she says her doctor told her to stay away from soy lecithin because it is a new addition to the "foods to avoid" list in the gluten-free diet. He could not emphasize enough how bad soy lecithin was for a celiac disease person. When I looked back to all the gluten-free foods that made me sick, I NOTICED THEY ALL HAD SOY LECITHIN!!! Gluten-free chocolate, candies, and some baked goods had soy lecithin in them. I was shocked considering these were under the gluten-free label even though soy lecithin is supposed to be a gluten-free "no-no".

Is this very new knowledge or do some of you guys know about this already? Does soy lechithin make you guys sick too? Apparently it's protein form is similar to wheat's which is why it is in the same family of grains.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Juliebove

 
Juliebove

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts
 

Posted 04 September 2009 - 12:44 PM

I've never heard this before.
  • 0

#3 chasbari

 
chasbari

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
 

Posted 04 September 2009 - 12:47 PM

Yep, caused me trouble from the beginning. I removed it early on...dumb luck on my part, I guess.
  • 0

#4 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 04 September 2009 - 01:02 PM

it doesn't have gluten, and isn't on the no-no list for celiacs due to 'autoimmune response to the molecule' reasons. some people avoid it because they cannot tolerate soy, and some people avoid it due to the excess soy processing to get the ingredient. but yes, something can be gluten free (contain no wheat, barley, rye, or oats) and have soy lecithin.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#5 mushroom

 
mushroom

    Mushroom

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,448 posts
 

Posted 04 September 2009 - 01:10 PM

Soy lecithin is a problem for many of us, but I don't believe it has any relation to gluten. It is just an often associated intolerance.
  • 0
Neroli


"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973
Lactose free 1990
(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's
Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004
Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007
Soy free March 2008
Nightshade free Feb 2009
Citric acid free June 2009
Potato starch free July 2009
(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009
Legume free March 2010
Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#6 txplowgirl

 
txplowgirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
 

Posted 04 September 2009 - 02:04 PM

I have problems with it but I have a problem with all soy.
  • 0

Lupus, Connective Tissue Disease with Fibro type symptoms, Anemia, Anxiety, Depression, RA, Rynauds Syndrome, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Erosive Gastritis, Osteoporosis, Degenerative Disc Disease, Scoliosis, Bulging discs in lower back and neck, Pinched Nerves.

 

Soy free, MSG free, mostly Dairy free. Endoscopy shows blunted Villi which dr states as gluten sensitivity, so goin back to being gluten free


#7 ksymonds84

 
ksymonds84

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
 

Posted 04 September 2009 - 02:53 PM

I just recently diagnosed soy intolerant based on an IgA test. I've removed all soy and its made a VERY big difference in my symptoms but agree with everyone that soy is gluten free in itself. Just wish it was as easy as wheat to find on food labels!
  • 0
Kathy

Gluten free 3/08
Negative blood work/positive endoscopy
Fructose Malabsorption
Soy free

#8 Emily888

 
Emily888

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
 

Posted 10 September 2009 - 03:40 PM

Thank you so much for writing this Thread! Soy and Soy Lecithin has caused me trouble for sooooo long. I eliminated it early on and it is such a bummer because so many foods have it in it. Almost every chocolate bar has it :(
  • 0

#9 Atomal

 
Atomal

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
 

Posted 17 May 2013 - 10:50 AM

Anyone know of a nutrition bar that's soy-free, lactose-free, and gluten-free. Discovered on my flight that soy lecithin (in Kind nutrition bar) is a no-no for me
  • 0

#10 julissa

 
julissa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
 

Posted 17 May 2013 - 11:03 AM

I am allergic to soy and dairy, so it is especially hard to find anything prepared, but it can be done. you just have to have expert skills in label reading, it gets easier, believe me.

 

try Enjoy Life products if you are wanting cookies, chocolate, etc. they are pretty good, just expensive as you can imagine.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: