Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Are There Alot Of Keurig K-cups That Are Gluten Free?
0

29 posts in this topic

I've been asked what I want for a gift and it was suggested that I would enjoy a Keurig. I've never been brave enough to try it when I see them out in public... because I don't know what is gluten free. Are there alot of gluten free k-cups...coffees and teas? Is it worth it?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I just sent them a message on their website asking about gluten content because I was thinking of getting my husband a brewer for Christmas and I might want to sneak something in there for me once in a while. Maybe if enough people ask about availability of gluten-free products, it will influence their offerings.

If I don't hear back positively, I will get a pot that uses regular coffee pods and buy the machine to make your own pods so I know exactly what's in them.

Michelle

Western Washington tate

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We have a keurig and LOVE it!!! There is a cup you can purchase and use your own coffee.

Enjoy!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a Keurig, and I've not been glutened by any of the K-cups. But then, I rarely drink anything other than really dark roasts - no flavored coffees, no tea, no hot chocolate.

If you also get the "My K-Cup" you can put your own coffee grounds in it and run it through the machine. Like cbear said, that way you know exactly what you're getting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, I really want one now. At the bank they had one and I had a blazin headache, so I googled green mountain coffee. I found out (unley're fibbin, that all the flavors are gluten free...and had my FIRST cup of coffee in 6 months. I didn't use creamer because I didn't know if it was dairy and gluten free...no label. But even black with some sugar, it was wonderful, fabulous, superDEEduper!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I use the Green Mountain brand flavored K-cups at work and have had no problems. I e-mailed them a couple months ago and they replied that all their flavors are gluten free. Enjoy!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I buy Dunkin Donuts coffee and use my keurig to make it. My favorite coffee drink.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting discussion but sorry I am a little late in the game. THought you'd be interested in knowing, from keurig's own website (http://www.keurig-k-cups.com/):

Keurig is a subsidiary of Green Mountain Coffee Roasters Inc, but has forged partnerships with a number of well-known and gourmet coffee roasters, tea makers and other beverage makers and created K-Cup versions of their products, including Diedrich Coffee, Gloria Jean

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know what relationship www.keurig-k-cups.com has to Keurig, but that is definitely not the official site. Keurig (www.keurig.com) does answer a gluten question on their FAQ page concerning coffee but does not mention tea at all:

Do any of your K-Cups contain gluten?

Answer

All of the coffees offered in K-Cups are gluten and gluten byproduct-free. The Caf

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, I really want one now. At the bank they had one and I had a blazin headache, so I googled green mountain coffee. I found out (unley're fibbin, that all the flavors are gluten free...and had my FIRST cup of coffee in 6 months. I didn't use creamer because I didn't know if it was dairy and gluten free...no label. But even black with some sugar, it was wonderful, fabulous, superDEEduper!

I have found on all of the Nestle Coffee Mate non-dairy creamer, the specific phrase gluten free. (I am not informed about dairy so I dont' know if that would be safe or not.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anybody know if it is safe for a celiac to use a Keurig that might run gluten-containing k-cups as well? It seems to me that the possibility for cross-contamination is definitely there...

Hmmm... I have one and had not considered that the tea I make my husband may cross-contaminate me.

The way the machine works, it makes a hole in the k-cup before sending water through it. i guess there is a slight possibility a grain of tea or coffee could be left on the spike? I need to look closer. I do know that some coffee grains escape to the bottom of the area where I place my k-cup....

I considered this an easy to clean machine and no-worries when gluten-free, but now I must look into further. :(

I'm only going into day 6 gluten-free and it's hard to think I might could get cross-contaminated by one more thing! :unsure:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've had a Keurig machine since last winter and I love it! I know for sure that VanHoutte French Vanilla is gluten-free, that's my favorite and I have it everyday. I emailed the company to ask. If you are unsure you can always email/call the companies that make the coffees. I have done that a few times and they've always sent a reply (and 99% have said they are gluten-free)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think that the website the last poster cited was the correct site. I looked on www.keurig.com which I believe is their official site. In the customer service FAQ's they provide the following response for coffee. There is no information regarding the tea k-cups. I will probably write the company about this and if I get an answer I will post it here as well.

Question

Do any of your K-Cups contain gluten?

Answer

All of the coffees offered in K-Cups are gluten and gluten byproduct-free. The Caf

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've had a Keurig machine since last winter and I love it! I know for sure that VanHoutte French Vanilla is gluten-free, that's my favorite and I have it everyday. I emailed the company to ask. If you are unsure you can always email/call the companies that make the coffees. I have done that a few times and they've always sent a reply (and 99% have said they are gluten-free)

yeah, and I'm gussing my dh's tea is probably gluten-free, but I should check to be certain.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think that the website the last poster cited was the correct site. I looked on www.keurig.com which I believe is their official site. In the customer service FAQ's they provide the following response for coffee. There is no information regarding the tea k-cups. I will probably write the company about this and if I get an answer I will post it here as well.

Question

Do any of your K-Cups contain gluten?

Answer

All of the coffees offered in K-Cups are gluten and gluten byproduct-free. The Caf

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I won't let my son run a hot chocolate through my machine for fear of cc. Just would rather be safe!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I won't let my son run a hot chocolate through my machine for fear of cc. Just would rather be safe!

I think you have the right idea. If you look at the ingredients listed for the green mountain hot cocoa k cups, maltodextrin is listed, which is a big gluten no-no for those of us who can't have gluten. But the website also listed their hot cocoa as gluten free! We have to be very careful and read ALL the ingredients. The vanilla chai has modified food starch as an ingredient, which is also a no-no unless it specifically says from corn or another vegetable. It pays to be aware of what companies think is and isn't gluten free. Just because it says there is no wheat doesn't mean it is gluten free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you have the right idea. If you look at the ingredients listed for the green mountain hot cocoa k cups, maltodextrin is listed, which is a big gluten no-no for those of us who can't have gluten. But the website also listed their hot cocoa as gluten free! We have to be very careful and read ALL the ingredients. The vanilla chai has modified food starch as an ingredient, which is also a no-no unless it specifically says from corn or another vegetable. It pays to be aware of what companies think is and isn't gluten free. Just because it says there is no wheat doesn't mean it is gluten free!

Maltodextrin and modified food starch would need to be labeled with (wheat) if they were derived from a wheat source by law in the US.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you have the right idea. If you look at the ingredients listed for the green mountain hot cocoa k cups, maltodextrin is listed, which is a big gluten no-no for those of us who can't have gluten. But the website also listed their hot cocoa as gluten free! We have to be very careful and read ALL the ingredients. The vanilla chai has modified food starch as an ingredient, which is also a no-no unless it specifically says from corn or another vegetable. It pays to be aware of what companies think is and isn't gluten free. Just because it says there is no wheat doesn't mean it is gluten free!

Maltodextrin is not the same as malt. It is a highly processed starch. In the US, it is derived from potato or corn. If it was derived from wheat, it would have to be called out per labeling laws. Google "maltodextrin gluten free" and loads of info will come up.

Likewise, modified food starch is also gluten free unless it is derived from wheat and would then have to be called out as such.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maltodextrin and modified food starch would need to be labeled with (wheat) if they were derived from a wheat source by law in the US.

Dang!!! Looks like Patti's cat-like reflexes beat me to the punch. :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dang!!! Looks like Patti's cat-like reflexes beat me to the punch. :P

:D Actually, we posted at the exact same moment. Great minds....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:D Actually, we posted at the exact same moment. Great minds....

Then why does it make me sick?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Then why does it make me sick?

Hi galendj,

There are several possible reasons--if you've been gluten-free for a short time, it can take a bit longer for your symptoms to settle down. Something like coffee may be irritating your healing intestine. Also, even though a food itself may be perfectly gluten-free, there is always the possibility of cross contamination somewhere along the line.

Some people develop or discover other sensitivities after going gluten-free. It's not uncommon for those of us with gluten issues.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Then why does it make me sick?

Not knowing all the details . . . how long you've been gluten free, what items are making you sick . . .

First, you do need to make sure the product is gluten free. Evaluate the possibility that it may be cc'd during the manufacturing process.

That being said, as you are healing, some products may be particualary iritating to your system, and quite frankly, it could be just about anything. My daughter can't handle blue food dye when she's been glutened. After enough time has passed, she can handle it fine (although I'm always leary and don't let her go wild with it. You only have to clean blue-yogurt-vomit out of your carpet once to make you a bit gun-shy). If you find that some product in particular is troublesome, remove it from your diet. You can try it again a few weeks or months later and determine if it still bothers you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not knowing all the details . . . how long you've been gluten free, what items are making you sick . . .

First, you do need to make sure the product is gluten free. Evaluate the possibility that it may be cc'd during the manufacturing process.

That being said, as you are healing, some products may be particualary iritating to your system, and quite frankly, it could be just about anything. My daughter can't handle blue food dye when she's been glutened. After enough time has passed, she can handle it fine (although I'm always leary and don't let her go wild with it. You only have to clean blue-yogurt-vomit out of your carpet once to make you a bit gun-shy). If you find that some product in particular is troublesome, remove it from your diet. You can try it again a few weeks or months later and determine if it still bothers you.

I had that with fresh lettuces and popcorn. After 3 months, I did better with a small amount and now have no problems. Except popcorn... I can't stop eating it! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,116
    • Total Posts
      919,451
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I figured I would update those who were wondering.  I have gotten the appt. so far moved up to August 30. I am waiting to have gene testing done via swab for all 3 of my kiddos tomorrow. My daughters celiac antibodies came up negative but her IgA is low which the ped said could cause false negative antibodies for celiac so she will need to see a GI dr. also. The pediatrician is going to call the GI to try to get them in sooner. I am keeping them all on a gluten diet until the GI dr. decides what to do. I am on the cancellation list already for my son, however I am not going to be persistent with my phone calls to them until I have the results of the gene test. I really want that result in my hand before going to the GI dr if I can. Maybe if he is positive, along with his bloodwork and my history they can forgo the endoscopy. But he will eat gluten till then.  My husband and I have been very honest and upfront with him as to what is going on and the possibility of the endoscopy and what that entails and although scared in general he seems ok after assuring him that since I have it he has me to help him every step of the way.  Going through his current diet with him I realized that he is truly on such a low gluten diet that I am actually surprised his bloodwork shows antibodies at all!  So I told him to make a list of allllll the gluten he could possibly think of eating and he needs to pound it until the GI visit or endoscopy. Funny thing is everything he keeps thinking of to want to eat...is already gluten free!  The other night we were at a friends and he asked if he could be done with his hotdog. I made him finish just the bread 😂 Thanks for your help and advise and I will keep y'all posted on both kids!  My oldest is a ok as far as all his antibodies. Just actually had a follow up for other immune issues and all his levels are now normal!
    • I like your plan Cara, I may have to include it in my sons.    Poor little guy is still very very sick. I think he is resisting and cheating, despite having the support of two other siblings and a 100% gluten-free home. 
    • Despite it being a nightmare, I did wait for my kids to get biopsies. At one point I had one severely ill child gluten-free and two more waiting having to eat it. It was worth the wait though and I think long term a biopsy may be worthwhile, especially for school. I have already had issues with schools and camps so having a firm diagnosis has been helpful. 
    • Knowing that the reaction to gluten in celiacs is an uncalled for immune system reaction, I was thinking of how a cure would be possible. Maybe a medicine that somehow turns off the immune system. The only thing that i've heard do that... HIV.  obviously that's way worse than celiac. Just some food for thought.
    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined