Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jenvan

Duncan Hines Homestyle Frosting

Recommended Posts

I'm sure many of you don't visit the clanthompson.com site often...but they have a section called gluten alerts which lists ingredient changes etc in products. I went there today and saw this below... I have rec'd homestyle in the past, so it seems no Duncan Hines Frostings are gluten-free now. I have not been in store to ck the label myself, but be aware... Go to this address to see updates: http://www.clanthompson.com/res_news_alerts.php3

February 4, 2006:

Duncan Hines Creamy Home Style Frostings are no longer gluten free. They contain barley malt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hmm.....i have a duncan hines homestyle chocolate frosting which i was told by the company was gluten free.........the label doesn't say anything otherwise either......kinda confusing

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mahee, it probably depends on when you bought. The old ones are gluten free and the new ones are not. That sure limits the choices for lazy people like me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Viola

That's why I was having trouble with Duncan Hines Frosting :o:( Darn ... we are going backwards here :huh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I honestly don't know of another mainstream brand. But, Cherry Brook Farms has a frosting you add butter to... Sorry :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Does anyone know if Pillsbury frostings are ok? I'm going to call them but they are not open yet.

I cant find my notes right now but I THOUGHT I found out that betty crocker was gluten-free, but please dont take my word on that just yet. I'll find out some how unless some lese here knows?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Does anyone know if Pillsbury frostings are ok? I'm going to call them but they are not open yet.

I emailed Smucker (which now owns the Pillsbury Frostings, go on the Pillsbury website and you will see this). A rep from Smucker called me back and left me a message that the company will list any of the major allergens at the end of the ingredient list on all of their products. She said the frosting would clearly state if there is any wheat. However, she did not mention specifics about gluten....

only wheat.

I used the Pillsbury frosting this past weekend. Saw nothing suspicious in the ingredients, and no wheat listed. I am SUPER sensitive and had no reaction. Not that that means anything, but thought I would throw that out there!

Megan, MA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just called Pillsbury and the rep told me that there is no wheat, oats, barley or rye in any of the ingredients and ofcourse gave me the standard, but we can not 100% guarantee no cross contamination thing.

So I guess I'll consider Pillsbury my new brand of frosting.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have thier smartlists on my PDA and its fantastic to have in the store with me. I got a pda just so I could have this.

Elonwy

Elonwy,

You have just prompted me to send my man over to best buy and get me a PDA - what a great idea, and why I never thought of it until now is dumbfounding. :rolleyes:

Thank you so much for your insight!!!

Ehrin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Honestly, icing is about the easiest thing in the world to make. If anyone wants to know how, just ask me. I have never used canned stuff.

Sure! I have made some inteh past, but wouldl ove to see your way :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Honestly, icing is about the easiest thing in the world to make. If anyone wants to know how, just ask me. I have never used canned stuff.

I know it's ridiculously easy, but it's the little things like this I don't want to do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree, it's really easy to make icing but that isn't the point......I just want at least one thing to be easy as in all i have to do is open a container! i'll never understand why all of these companies thing that you have to put something from wheat in every product....i mean wheat in twizzlers! come on!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got this response today from Dunkin Hines (Pinnacle Foods):

Thank you for taking the time to inquire about Pinnacle Foods Corporation and the products we produce which might be gluten-free. We appreciate your interest in our company and our products.

At the present time, Vlasic® Pickles, Sauerkraut and Peppers and Log Cabin® Country Kitchen syrup are gluten-free. The vinegar used in production of these items is corn-based, rather than wheat-based. Other items in our product lines (which include Swanson® frozen foods, Duncan Hines®, and Open Pit® barbecue sauces) generally contain wheat-based ingredients in the form of modified food starches and other thickening agents.

While our manufacturing facilities follow generally accepted good manufacturing practices, we do not have the flexibility of segregating production lines for the exclusive production of wheat-free items. We recommend that you review the list of ingredients on the package prior to purchase to assure that you are meeting your specific dietary needs. Since we are constantly improving our products, ingredients may change from time to time.

We appreciate the time you've taken to share your specific concerns with us, because it helps us to become aware of consumer needs. We hope you find this information helpful.

Sincerely,

Darlene Peters

Consumer Response Representative

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for posting this change in ingredients! The past week I have been getting awful stomachaches and now I know why...I had an old list that stated Duncan Hines frostings as being gluten free.

Since the frosting that I had wasn't brand new I thought that maybe it was still from the batch that was supposedly gluten free. I decided to contact the company and ask them. This is the response that I received from Pinnacle Foods Corp.:

"Thank you for taking the time to email us.

In regards to your inquiry, the Duncan Hines® Frostings are not gluten

free. Contact us again if we can be of assistance in the future."

So, are Betty Crocker and Pillsbury frostings gluten free?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks for posting this change in ingredients! The past week I have been getting awful stomachaches and now I know why...I had an old list that stated Duncan Hines frostings as being gluten free.

Since the frosting that I had wasn't brand new I thought that maybe it was still from the batch that was supposedly gluten free. I decided to contact the company and ask them. This is the response that I received from Pinnacle Foods Corp.:

"Thank you for taking the time to email us.

In regards to your inquiry, the Duncan Hines® Frostings are not gluten

free. Contact us again if we can be of assistance in the future."

So, are Betty Crocker and Pillsbury frostings gluten free?

Betty Crocker is not gluten-free, but Pillsbury is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest nini

I use Pillsbury's or I make my own... I just made a cream cheese frosting the other day that is so yum!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...