Rate this topic

Hi, I've recently had to start eating gluten-free and I'm still learning to say the least. I was wondering if everything that says it is gluten-free actually is gluten-free?? I had some salad dressing that said on the back that it was gluten free but it still seemed to bother me, so I'm not sure if it was that or something else in it or with my stomache.

Hi, I've recently had to start eating gluten-free and I'm still learning to say the least. I was wondering if everything that says it is gluten-free actually is gluten-free?? I had some salad dressing that said on the back that it was gluten free but it still seemed to bother me, so I'm not sure if it was that or something else in it or with my stomache.

Welcome to the forum!

When we're new, it seems like we can react to most anything and everything. And since the FDA has not come up with guidelines as to what exactly constitutes gluten-free, we are at the mercy of manufacturers, some of whom are very good about testing and labeling. Or you could be reacting to an ingredient in the salad dressing even if it is gluten-free or to something you ate a day or two earlier. 'Tis all such a puzzle.