This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Chipotle's

StacyA

StacyA Enthusiast

I've reviewed old posts about Chipotle's - and have seen mixed opinions. I'm new to gluten-free and had never been to Chipotle, but I had heard it was a good place for gluten-free options. I'm traveling right now and was happy when I saw a sign for Chipotle along the highway, so I stopped. The employee was really nice. I didn't get a tortilla or chips. She got a new spoon to dish up my rice. And she changed her gloves. That night I had discomfort and the loudest and longest (hours) of gurling I'd ever experienced. Before the employee changed her gloves, she gave her reason as: 'I handle tortillas and chips all day, so I should change gloves for you'. So now I'm wondering if, all day long, she used flour-y gloves to get other peoples' cheese and lettuce - so new gloves for me were useless. In a post from a few years ago, one forum member did suggest not getting anything that the staff dishes up with his/her hands - like cheese and lettuce. Anyone have advice?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

LDJofDenver Apprentice

Well, it's a crap shoot. They did all the right things and even thought to change gloves, but most don't "get it" about cross contamination. (Not so sure I entirely got it either, when first diagnosed!)